Stem and Leaf Plots or Tens and Ones

Shodor Interactivate Stem and Leaf Plotter

Today I asked a 5th grade teacher if she wanted to come into the lab during math and she said, “If you have anything on Stem and Leaf Plots…they just don’t seem to get it.”

I said that I had a great tool (although I had never used it). I decided we’d take every student’s height in inches and then plot the data. The kids seem to get it almost right away. Then we had to do mean, mode, and median. It went well and at the end of the half hour, I think they understood it!

Leave a Reply

